Team Drive Joins UAlberta Google Suite this August

Team Drive is now available through your UAlberta Google account! Note: it may take up to 24 hours for this feature to be visible in Google Drive. 

Team Drive is a new Google Drive feature built around team collaboration. Team Drive offers safe, secure, easy-to-manage shared spaces for teams. It is designed for how teams work: files stay put even when a team member leaves.

Unlike in My Drive, where files and folders are owned by the individual who created them, files in Team Drive belong to the team. If members leave, the files stay exactly where they are so your team can continue to share information and get work done.

Ready to dive in? Get started in Team Drive:

For more information, refer to the FAQs below. Additionally, for self-paced interactive coaching and walkthroughs you can install the G Suite Training Chrome extension, or for hands-on G suite training contact the Technology Training Centre.

FAQs

When should I use Team Drive vs. My Drive?
What is Team Drive?
What makes Team Drive unique?
How do I set up Team Drive?
What is the difference between Team Drive and My Drive?
What can I store on Team Drive?
What should I not store on Team Drive?
How can I best manage information (for Faculty or Department users)?
How is Team Drive affected while travelling?
What are some general guidelines or best practices to get the most out of Team Drives?

When should I use Team Drive vs. My Drive?

What is Team Drive?
Team Drive is a new Google Drive feature built around team collaboration. Team Drive offers safe, secure, easy-to-manage shared spaces for teams. It is designed for how teams work: files stay put even when a team member leaves. For an overview of Team Drive, visit A Look Inside Team Drive for Staff & Faculty or A Look Inside Team Drive for Students.

What makes Team Drive unique?

  • Every person (CCID) and Google Group added to a Team Drive gets instant access to that team’s files and folders.
  • Team Drives help teams organize all their content into one easy-to-find location instead of being spread across shared My Drive folders owned by many individuals.
  • When new content is added to a Team Drive, it will automatically be available to all the members of the team without the need to manage sharing each time.
  • Team Drive is designed for how teams work: files stay put even when a team member leaves.
  • Setting the appropriate permissions will prevent team members from accidentally removing or deleting files that others need.

How do I set up Team Drive?
Team Drive is now available to access through your UAlberta Google account. To set up a Team Drive, open “Drive” and select “Team Drives” in the left navigation panel. Learn how to set up a Team Drive.

What is the difference between Team Drive and My Drive?
Though both serve as online file storage and collaboration tools, there are specific situations in which one would be more valuable to use over the other. In Team Drives, files are owned by the team and organization, not by an individual. When an employee leaves the organization and their accounts are deleted, their files remain in Team Drives. In My Drive, files are owned by the individual. If an individual leaves the organization, these files stay within the individual’s account until ownership of the account is changed.

What can I store on Team Drive?
Users can upload many different types of files, such as photos, designs, drawings, recordings, videos and more. Drive can be used to store files for class and collaborative projects, work or research.

What should I not store on Team Drive?
Any type of file containing identifiable patient and health care information is NOT to be stored on Google Drive. It is also highly recommended to avoid storing files that contain SIN numbers (social insurance numbers) where possible. For more about safeguarding the University’s information, see https://www.ualberta.ca/chief-information-security-officer.

How can I best manage information (for Faculty or Department users)?
When working with file storage solutions (e.g. department file server, shared drives, cloud storage), the solution or technology alone does not improve a team’s ability to work effectively with the stored data or information. 

To help your team manage information, consideration needs to be given to how the information is named, organized and stored. The University Records Office has developed a simple approach to help you manage your information with file storage solutions. This approach will also help meet obligations to protect, retain, and preserve/destroy information under University policies and legislation.

Damian Hollow (hollow@ualberta.ca) and Jay Jorgensen (jpjorgen@ualberta.ca) from the University Records Office will be happy to meet with you and discuss how to best manage faculty/department information with your current file storage solution.

Team Drive: Managing Information One Pager - University Records Office

How is Team Drive affected while travelling?
Google restricts access to some of its business services in certain countries or regions at the request of the country’s governing body. If you are experiencing difficulty connecting to Google, a VPN is your best solution for access. Access step-by-step instructions for setting up a VPN on ualberta.ca/ist. It is recommended to install and test your VPN prior to leaving on your trip. For more tips on travelling with technology, see Travel Tips at uab.ca/CISO.

What are some general guidelines or best practices to get the most out of Team Drives?
Team Drives offers many advantages to explore compared to My Drive. Always consider how you want to organize your data when deciding on which one to use for your personal or team work.

Set up and share

  • Anyone with a UAlberta G Suite account can create a Team Drive, add members, and set permissions. An account can be a member of multiple Google Team Drives.
  • There are four levels of permissions that can be assigned to members: full access, edit access, comment access and view access. Learn more about setting permissions in Team Drive here.
  • It is recommended to always have two members with ‘full access’ to the Team Drive (for Faculties or Departments one of these can be a secondary CCID). This will ensure someone always has access to add / remove members to the Team Drive or to organize content in the case of absences.
  • It is recommended to not provide every member ‘full access’ permission to the Team Drive, unless required for their tasks.
  • Only team members with ‘full access’ or ‘edit access’ can add or upload files to a Team Drive.
  • A Google Group can also be assigned as a member to a Team Drive (for Faculties or Departments only). Note, every member of the Google Group will inherit the same permissions as provided to the Google Group for the Team Drive (e.g., a Google Group has 10 members and has been permissioned ‘edit access’ for the Team Drive, all 10 members will also have ‘edit access’).
  • When sharing content using Team Drives, keep in mind that all files added to the Team Drive will be visible by the entire team.
  • When members are added to a Team Drive, they can access everything in that Team Drive. You cannot restrict access to subfolders. When different permissions are needed, create a new Team Drive instead.
  • Individual files within a Team Drive can be shared directly with non-Team Drive members. When this happens, the file appears in ‘Shared with me’ and other views for that user, but cannot be added in My Drive or to another Team Drive.

Migrate

  • Moving files from My Drive to the Team Drive changes ownership from the individual (user) to the Team Drive (organization).
  • Folders cannot be moved from My Drive to a Team Drive, only files. However, multiple files can be moved at one time. Note, to select multiple files, hold down Command (Mac) or Ctrl (Windows) and click each file.
  • Only team members with ‘full access’ or ‘edit access’ to the Team Drive can move files they own from My Drive to a Team Drive.
  • It is important to note that users who have been shared files from another user’s My Drive with ‘can edit’ access can move those My Drive files into a Team Drive. This is possible as long as both users are members of the Team Drive and the member moving the My Drive files has ‘full access’ or ‘edit access’ to the Team Drive.
  • File permissions and links do not change when moved to a Team Drive. People who are not Team Drive members can still access the file with the previously granted permission.

Delete and restore

  • Each Team Drive has its own trash, and only ‘full access’ members can delete files and folders.
  • Team members who have ‘edit access’ or ‘full access’ can restore files.
  • Unlike in My Drive, files and folders in the Team Drive Trash are automatically deleted forever after 30 days.

 

Posted by Sheena Moore