Starting in July 2019, Google users will begin to see changes to automatic sync between Google Drive and Google Photos. These changes include:
- New photos and videos from Drive won’t automatically show in Photos
- New photos and videos in Photos will not be added to the Photos folder in Drive
- Photos and videos you delete in Drive will not be removed from Photos
- Items you delete in Photos will not be removed from Drive.
This change is designed to help prevent accidental deletion of items across products.
Your existing photos and videos will stay in Google Drive and Google Photos.
Any photos or videos from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. If you have a “Google Photos” folder in Drive, it will remain in Drive, but will no longer update automatically.
The goal with these changes is to simplify some features that caused confusion for Google users, based on feedback and Google’s own research. Google will continue to look for more ways to help support Drive and Photos users going forward.
For more information on these new changes, please visit the Google Help Center.